On Thorns I Lay Honor the Dead on “Fallen From Grace”

Posted on August 29, 2023

More information about On Thorns I Lay

On Thorns I Lay are the Greek gods of doom and gloom. These Athenians have cast death metal with a melodious, gothic glow since the early ’90s. Heck, they plucked their name from a Shakespearean sonnet.

Today, On Thorns I Lay are releasing the second single off their upcoming self-titled album, which is their first release for Season of Mist. Watch the war-torn lyric video for “Fallen From Grace” on our YouTube channel HERE.

‘On Thorns I Lay’ comes out on October 13. Pre-order the album HERE. Pre-save it HERE.

“Fallen From Grace” opens their new album on a harrowing note. “This song is about all those who have suffered from wars and genocides”, the band says. But despite the heavy subject matter, On Thorns I Lay continue to push their swelling, muscular riffs and smokey, orchestral atmosphere to new heights, thanks to a little help from their friends. Members of the Athens Orchestra are featured here, along with Fanny Melfi, who’s sang with their fellow countrymen Septicflesh.

“All the pain and suffering, all the murders and rapes of innocent people, still haunt us and will never be forgotten”, says On Thorns I Lay. “Remember the fallen!”

  1. Fallen From Grace (8:07)
  2. Newborn Skies (4:44)
  3. Crestfallen (8:08)
  4. Among the Wolves (7:38)
  5. Raise Empires (7:18)
  6. Thorns of Fire (7:23)
View On Thorns I Lay