Horrendous offer first glimpse inside ‘Ontological Mysterium’

Posted on May 24, 2023

More information about Ontological Mysterium

The progressive death metal band Horrendous have finished their fifth studio album. Today, they’re releasing the title track ‘Ontological Mysterium’. The album will be released worldwide on August 18, 2023.

The album contains everything you’d expect from Horrendous: technical proficiency, riffs that thrash and churn through a labyrinth of progressively twisted arrangements, charred vocals and melodic destruction.

“The album is our love letter to the bombastic spirit of heavy metal from the ’80s and early ’90s”, says Matthew Knox, who plays guitar and also pitches in on vocals. ‘Ontological Mysterium’ is an allegorical tale of creation, the formation of organic life, and the inadvertently and ironically destructive fate of unbound growth and uncontrollable reproduction. It represents the wild voracity of youth and inevitable transition into the gradual decay of aging in its various forms, fulfilling the unbroken circle of a biological existence”.

‘Ontological Mysterium’ is now available for pre-save HERE and pre-order HERE.

  1. The Blaze
  2. Chrysopoeia (The Archaeology of Dawn)
  3. Neon Leviathan
  4. Aurora Neoterica
  5. Preterition Hymn
  6. Cult of Shaad'oah
  7. Exeg(en)esis
  8. Ontological Mysterium
  9. The Death Knell Ringeth
View Horrendous