Posted on February 26, 2010

More information about Re-Traced

On next May 17th, cult progressive metallers CYNIC will release a brand new EP entitled “Re-Traced”, including reinterpretations of four songs from the critically acclaimed “Traced in Air” album, as well as a previously unreleased song.

“‘Re-traced’ is an experiment for us – an opportunity to turn four songs from ‘Traced in Air’ inside out and to share something new”, comments frontman Paul Masvidal. “In our exploration, we’ve created music that is part “sci-fi prog folk”, part psychedelic rock, part minimalist restraint. These interpretations feel channeled from another galaxy. For the most part the tunes reference some of our favourite musical forms and in our own curious way (electronic/ambient, jazz/fusion, drum n’ bass, experimental, shoegaze). There is no vocoder, no traditionally busy CYNIC riffs that are some of our most signatures sounds, but the music retains its song structure, integral melodic sense, harmony and lyrical inspiration.”

About the new song: “It is entitled ‘Wheels Within Wheels’ and it is the most rock / metal tune on the EP. Mood-wise it has a melodic optimism that is a bit more transparent than in other CYNIC songs, giving it a unique and emotive color. We are really pleased with the performances and energy of this track. Considering this song is perhaps the closest reference to a familiar CYNIC sound, it still leaves behind many of the former trademarks and introduces a new shade of groove and dynamic. Progressive music has many faces, and that is always the name of the game for CYNIC: re-inventing ourselves and pushing our own musical boundaries for ourselves and our fans.”

Watch a video teaser on YouTube, MySpace, Vimeo or Facebook!

View Cynic