AUTARKH Descend Into Darkness on New Single

Posted on October 4, 2023

More information about Emergent

Autarkh venture into a bigger, brighter and more uplifting headspace on their new album. On the first two singles off Emergent, the Dutch contemporary metal band tapped in to supercharged industrial-sized riffs and even clean, radiant harmonies. But their new single “Duhkha” finds them struggling to hold onto that serene state of mind.

Watch the tormented lyric video for “Duhkha”, which was created by Spread Motion Design.

‘Emergent’ comes out November 10.



“‘Dukhka’ shows a darker side of the journey on ‘Emergent'”, says Autarkh. The song opens with eerie feedback and ominous sound effects that could’ve been ripped out of a slasher flick. Meanwhile, the band’s founder Michel Nienhuis screams with vein-popping intensity about being consumed then thrown into an inferno.

The darkness that hangs like a shroud over “Duhkha” comes from a personal place. “Clouded gaze, clouded aura / Left behind with my past self”, Nienhuis cries out, his final words before a tidal wave of battering electronic drums and gloomy dissonance pulls him under.

“The final part of this song reflects an unreleased DODECAHEDRON song that was written as an homage to my former band mate Michiel Eikenaar, who passed away in 2019”.

  1. Open Focus (6:59)
  2. Strife (5:23)
  3. Duhkha (5:20)
  4. Trek (5:26)
  5. Refocus (4:49)
  6. Aperture (1:46)
  7. Eye of Horus (4:23)
  8. Countless Kaleidoscopes (5:17)
  9. Ka (6:14)
View Autarkh